laptop

Hey, you. Thanks for clicking on whatever link it was that got you here. If you’re looking at this, it means you and I already have something in common – we both have at least a vague interest in the book I’m currently working on. See that? Great minds do think alike.

If you don’t already know me, my name is Jackie and I am a writer/editor, yoga instructor, and small business owner from New Jersey. If you do already know me, there’s a decent chance that you’ve already been made aware of the fact that I recently lost my home, income, and relationship over the course of just a few weeks in early summer 2012. If you do know me but didn’t already know those details…sorry for being the bearer of bad news. Hope I didn’t spoil your day.

Considering that I’ve just gone through the trifecta of shitty life changes, it would be realistic to feel the worst I’ve ever felt in my life. I lost all the things that gave me a sense of security and wound up essentially penniless and living back in my parents’ NJ basement. Oy. Yet against all reasonable odds, I have managed to feel happier, lighter, and better than I have in many, many years. I have no idea what I’m doing, how I’m going to pay for anything, or what the future looks like for me, but I feel happy and confident that everything is happening as it should. Despite having none of the things that are supposed to make your average white, middle class American girl happy, I am more fulfilled now than I have ever been.

How did things work out this way? I’m going to tell you…in the form of a highly entertaining and insightful book. For all you non-readers out there: Fear Not. My shit is funny, and you will enjoy yourself. Moreover, I’ve experienced a good deal of exciting and scandalous events that will make their way into the pages of my book, giving you plenty of, “Say What?!” and, “Oh no he didn’t!” moments to look forward to.

Hopefully I’ve hyped up my new project enough by this point that you’re more interested in the book than you were at the beginning of this post. If that’s the case [fingers crossed], I hope you stay tuned on my progress by following this blog and keeping me on my toes with getting everything done. If you’re so inclined, you can sign up for email updates on the left (under “Want email updates?”), and feel free to comment on my posts with any questions, feedback, or backhanded compliments. There are also a few notes on who I am and what the book is about. It will take me a while to get this whole project done, but I’m happy to take whoever’s interested along for the ride.

Thanks for taking the time to check this out. I hope you’re as excited as I am!

-Jackie

